About Philippe Leblanc

Photo © Jorge De La Torre

Turnhout, Belgium • 1964

An artist sensitive to rationality and the purity of forms, Philippe Leblanc finds inspiration in mathematics, in famous series like Fibonacci’s conical shapes and emblematic numbers such as the golden number, Pi, and root of two.

 

His creations of abstract appearance are based on the writing of numbering systems from distant cultures, which confers them a mysterious formal balance.

 

He imagines time machines and calendars according to strict rules which then fade away to retain only their random and enigmatic character.

 

His works include wall sculptures, light boxes, hanging mobiles, motorized carousels or raised puzzles, all sharing the same geometric language.

 

These greatly demanding formal requirements translate into an equally demanding execution, which involves the technical mastery of various materials such as paper, metals, plexiglass…

 

The colors, the minimality of white, the non-materiality of mirrors, cut-outs and translucent pieces, reinforce a play with light as well as a notion of spectrum or series, while evoking the memory of the underlying writing.

 

An architect-engineer by training, Philippe Leblanc is attentive to the interaction of his sometimes monumental creations with their surrounding space, the movement of the observer and the changing qualities of light. Welcoming space, welcomed work and the perception of the spectator-actor then complement each other for an ever-renewed experience.

 

His work exploits and expresses the paradoxes between rigor of concept and material constraint, underlying rules and apparent randomness, mathematical aridity and playful experiences, bringing forward his idea that art must both stimulate and soothe the mind.

 

Philippe Leblanc lives and works in Brussels.

A propos de Philippe Leblanc

Photo © Jorge De La Torre

Turnhout, Belgique • 1964

Sensible à la rationalité, à la pureté des formes, Philippe Leblanc s’inspire des mathématiques, des séries célèbres comme celle de Fibonacci aux formes coniques, en passant par les nombres emblématiques tels le nombre d’or, Pi, racine de deux.

 

Il fonde des créations d’apparence abstraite sur les écritures de nombres issues de cultures lointaines, qui leur confèrent un équilibre formel mystérieux.

 

Il imagine des machines du temps, des calendriers, suivant des règles rigoureuses qui s’effacent ensuite pour ne conserver que le caractère aléatoire, énigmatique.

 

Ses œuvres se déclinent en sculptures murales, en boîtes lumineuses, en mobiles suspendus, en carrousels motorisés ou en puzzles en relief, partageant le même langage géométrique.

 

Cette grande exigence formelle se traduit dans une toute aussi grande exigence dans la réalisation, qui passe par la maîtrise technique de matériaux divers, papier, métaux, plexiglass…

 

La couleur, le blanc minimal, la non-matière des miroirs, des découpes et des pièces translucides, renforcent le jeu avec la lumière, la notion de spectre ou séries et le souvenir de l’écriture sous-jacente.

 

Ingénieur architecte de formation, Philippe Leblanc est attentif à l’interaction de ses créations, parfois monumentales, avec l’espace qui les accueille, le mouvement de l’observateur et de la lumière. Espace accueillant, œuvre accueillie et perception du spectateur-acteur se complètent alors pour une expérience à chaque fois renouvelée.

 

Son œuvre exploite et exprime les paradoxes entre la rigueur du concept et les contraintes de la matière, la règle sous-jacente et l’aléatoire apparent, l’aridité mathématique et le côté ludique de l’expérience,  rejoignant son idée que l’art doit à la fois stimuler et apaiser l’esprit.

 

Philippe Leblanc vit et travaille à Bruxelles.

© Philippe Leblanc 2020